Memories

Whenever I talk to a much younger person, I end up regretting that I have to cut short everything that I want to tell about my long life. There is so much to tell about my life. Who has time or interest to listen to all this? It is most difficult to find a person who is prepared to listen to me for hours! 🙂 Well, Frances did listen to me and Peter for hours and hours. What we said is kept now on the Oral History Disks! 🙂

Here is a copy of what I published in February 2013:

AuntyUta

Just another WordPress.com site

Aunty Uta’s Diary

 auntyuta  DiaryLife in AustraliaOld Age  February 21, 2013 1 Minute

Frances arrives at our home.
Today Frances arrived for the last part of the interview.

All went well. Now we have to wait for just a few weeks before we’ll be sent the finished disks. Not that I’m looking forward to listening to my recorded voice! Thanks to all the encouragement I have been given by Frances, I survived the interviews. But I’m glad it’s over now. Talking to Frances was great. I very much liked our conversations.  It was just a bit difficult at times  knowing  what I said was being recorded. Still it was overall a good, enjoyable experience. Frances always tried to put me at ease before the recordings and helped me along by asking relevant questions. 

I was able to go to the pool yesterday. The water was wonderful. Did do me a lot of good. I hope I can soon go there again. I was told, tomorrow, Friday, another school carnival will be going on. However for next week no further carnivals are scheduled.

Share this:

Customize buttons

Related

Interviews for Oral HistoryMarch 13, 2013In “Diary”

Interviews for Oral HistoryJuly 4, 2022In “Diary”

Aunty Uta’s Diary from February 21, 2013July 4, 2022In “Aunty Uta’s Diary from February 2013”

Edit”Aunty Uta’s Diary”

Published by auntyuta

Auntie, Sister. Grandmother, Great-Grandmother, Mother and Wife of German Descent I’ve lived in Australia since 1959 together with my husband Peter. We had four children, eight grandchildren and a lot of great-grandchildren. I started blogging because I wanted to publish some of my childhood memories. I am blogging now also some of my other memories. I like to publish some photos too as well as a little bit of a diary from the present time. Occasionally I publish a story with a bit of fiction in it. Peter, my husband, is publishing some of his stories under berlioz1935.wordpress.com 

Peter died of cancer in December 2020.

View all posts by auntyuta

Post navigation

Previous Post Swimming is good Exercise, but not today

Next PostVisiting David

6 thoughts on “Aunty Uta’s Diary”

  1. catterelEditNow you really are part of Australia’s history! This is a great idea, wonderful for future generations with no idea of what life was like in the past. I’m so glad you had the courage to go along and do t.Reply
    1. auntyuta EditWow, what a lovely comment, Cat. Thank you so much!Reply
  2. WordsFallFromMyEyesEditThis is hugely valuable, Aunty Uta, just like Catterel says. You surely know, I believe wholly in capturing your life while you’re in it, for others to know in years to come what it was like. This is so interesting – excellent!Reply
    1. auntyuta EditThank you, Noeleen.Reply
  3. Island TravelerEditWonderful post my friend. Hearing your stories always bring inspiration. Looks like you had a fun time in the pool. Swimming is invigorating!Reply
    1. auntyuta EditInvigorating – very much so, dear IT. I wished I had the stamina to go there more often.Yesterday Peter and I went to Merrylands West again taking some more stuff out of the house. Gaby’s portable ramp, her portable respirator and a box full of stuff for the respirator was still left in Gaby’s room. We found an address where all this had come from and took it there. It meant we did a trip to another Western Sydney suburb.Most of things that were still left in the house, Peter took to a close by opp-shop. He had to do several trips because our car is only small.After an exhausting eight hour day we were glad to be home again. The villa is completely empty now and ready to be renovated for the next disabled occupant.

Published by auntyuta

Auntie, Sister. Grandmother, Great-Grandmother, Mother and Wife of German Descent I've lived in Australia since 1959 together with my husband Peter. We have four children, eight grandchildren and two great-grandchildren. I started blogging because I wanted to publish some of my childhood memories. I am blogging now also some of my other memories. I like to publish some photos too as well as a little bit of a diary from the present time. Occasionally I publish a story with a bit of fiction in it. Peter, my husband, is publishing some of his stories under berlioz1935.wordpress.com

One thought on “Memories

  1. Yes, talking to Frances did bring back memories. Thanks everyone for your recent likes! 🙂

    My dream is, to write a bit more about my life and the lives of people I have come into contact with.
    In future generations maybe a few people mighr be a bit interested in what I left behind in my writing!? 😦

    Like

Leave a comment